1 - 5 October 2017

Milan, Italy

2017 saw the creation of the EPMA Fellowship Award to recognise the significant contribution to PM industry development from the scientific/academic community. The EPMA Fellowship Award not only provides a fantastic recognition from the PM community for such tremendous work, but also looks to exemplify the continued involvement in PM science and technologies.

An individual will be elected to be an EPMA Fellow through achievements and accomplishments made to EPMA and the PM and particulate materials industry .

The winners for 2017 are:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christoph Broeckmann, RWTH Aachen University

Professor Doctor Ingenieur Broeckmann began his career Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany studying Mechanical Engineering before he went onto work at the Institute of Materials Science at Bochum for ten years. Shortly after he got his PhD on a thesis on the fracture of carbide rich steels before working at Köppern GmbH&Co. KG he then became Managing Director at Köppern Entwicklungs GmbH. In 2008, he joined RWTH Aachen University as a professor and since 2009, he is head of the institute for materials application in mechanical engineering (IWM).

EPMA Fellowship Award Winner 2017 - Christoph Broeckmann

Prof Christoph Broeckmann, EPMA Fellow at Euro PM2017 with EPMA president Philippe Gundermann

© Andrew McLeish Euro PM2017


Prof. Alberto Molinari, University of Trento

As a full professor of Metallurgy within the Department of Industrial Engineering at the University of Trento; Head of the Mechanical Design and Metallurgy group since 1990; Head of Department of Materials Engineering and Industrial Technologies; vice Rector for Personnel Affairs and Collective Bargaining, and for Relations with Enterprises. He is author of about 470 publications on international and national journals and Conference proceedings and two patents. Founder of the K4Sint, start-up of Trento University dedicated to product development with SPS. He has received an Honorary Award from Cracow Technical University and Doctor Honoris Causa Award from Universidad Carlos III Madrid. He holds a degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Padua and a PhD in Metallurgical Engineering from Torino Polytechnic. He was Chairman of PM2010 World Congress, Florence, Italy; is the Coordinator of EPMAs EPMI group; member of the Technical Program Committee of several Euro PM Congress, member of the International Steering Committee for World PM2016 Congress; Teacher at EPMA Summer School and Young Engineers Day and is currently President of the Powder Metallurgy Committee of Associazione Italiana di Metallurgia.

EPMA Fellowship Award Winner 2017 - Alberto Molinari

Prof Alberto Molinari, EPMA Fellow at Euro PM2017 with EPMA president Philippe Gundermann

© Andrew McLeish Euro PM2017


Prof. José Manuel Torralba, Universidad Carlos III Madrid

Prof Dr Torralba is the Director-General for Universities and Research of Madrid Regional Government. He has published more than 450 scientific papers and supervised 26 PhD thesis and 80 Diploma Thesis.

Prof Dr Torralba has participated in more than 70 international scientific committees of International Conferences, being Chairman of 7 of them and has been involved in 35 competitive projects. He is Regional Editor (for Europe) of Journal of Materials Processing Technology and Journal of Achievements in Materials and Manufacturing Engineering as well as Editor in Chief (co-editor) of Powder Metallurgy.

EPMA Fellowship Award Winner 2017 - Jose Manuel Torralba

Dr Jose Manuel Torralba, EPMA Fellow at Euro PM2017 with EPMA president Philippe Gundermann

© Andrew McLeish Euro PM2017


Go To Top